Movie Musings – Wonka (2023)

Movie: Wonka (2023) 

Director: Paul King 

Date Watched: 20 December 2023 

Viewing Status: First Time Viewing 

Format: Cinema 

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars 

Initially I wasn’t planning on going to see Wonka but as I decided on what was going to be my final trip to the cinema for 2023, I was feeling more and more curious about this film especially with all the news about it not being marketed as a musical and my curiosity finally piqued because if there’s one genre that I love above all others is a musical so that’s what finally sold me. 

The only other adaptation I’ve seen of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is the 1971 film, which is one of my favourite movies and Gene Wilder’s performance as Willy Wonka is iconic so I went into Wonka not expecting much but by the end of this movie not only was this one of the best movie experiences of the year for me, it also became my favourite movie of 2023, which I definitely wasn’t expecting. 

This was such a joyous experience to watch, it was whimsical and heartfelt and I thought Timothée Chalamet was incredible as Willy Wonka. I loved the supporting cast and also the Ghosts fan in me definitely loved the cameos from members of the cast and also Mathew Boynton is another of my favourite actors so I enjoyed seeing him have a considerable supporting role in this movie. 

Overall if you’re a fan of musicals and have been sitting on this movie, I would highly encourage you to go and see this, you won’t be disappointed. 

Leave a comment